<body><script type="text/javascript"> function setAttributeOnload(object, attribute, val) { if(window.addEventListener) { window.addEventListener('load', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }, false); } else { window.attachEvent('onload', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }); } } </script> <div id="navbar-iframe-container"></div> <script type="text/javascript" src="https://apis.google.com/js/plusone.js"></script> <script type="text/javascript"> gapi.load("gapi.iframes:gapi.iframes.style.bubble", function() { if (gapi.iframes && gapi.iframes.getContext) { gapi.iframes.getContext().openChild({ url: 'https://www.blogger.com/navbar.g?targetBlogID\x3d21783316\x26blogName\x3dpierceblog\x26publishMode\x3dPUBLISH_MODE_BLOGSPOT\x26navbarType\x3dBLUE\x26layoutType\x3dCLASSIC\x26searchRoot\x3dhttps://piercev4n6.blogspot.com/search\x26blogLocale\x3den_US\x26v\x3d2\x26homepageUrl\x3dhttp://piercev4n6.blogspot.com/\x26vt\x3d-6086723127217530189', where: document.getElementById("navbar-iframe-container"), id: "navbar-iframe" }); } }); </script>

Friday, February 10, 2006


British national grid reference system: gbmappingsmall TQ335905
Borough: London Borough of Haringey
Administrative counties of England: Greater London
Regions of England: Greater London
Home Nations: England
Ceremonial counties of England: Greater London
Traditional counties of England: Middlesex
Post Office and Telephone
Postal counties of Great Britain: London
Postcode: N15, N17
UK telephone numbering plan: 020
Tottenham is an area in North London, England, Originally a rural area in the County of Middlesex later an Urban District, it became a Borough in 1934, then a part of London Borough of Haringey in 1965. Tottenham grew up along the old Roman Road, Ermine Street and between High Cross and Tottenham Hale, todays Monument Way. A rural Tottenham featured in Isaak Waltons book The Compleat Angler published in 1653 Tottenham remained a semi-rural and upper middle class area until the 1870s. The Great Eastern Railway introduced special Workmans Trains & Fares on its newly opened Stoke Newington & Edmonton Railway & Chingford Branch Lines. Tottenhams market gardens and low-lying fields were then rapidly transformed into cheap housing for the lower-middle and working classes, who were able to commute cheaply to inner London. This fare policy stimulated the relatively early development of the area into a London suburb. The River Lea that formed the eastern boundary of the Borough of Tottenham to Walthamstow, Middlesex to Essex, was also the boundary of Danelaw. This is now the boundary of the London Borough Haringey to London Borough of Waltham Forest. Tottenham is the home of Tottenham Hotspur F.C. Football Club, whose ground at Paxton Road is named White Hart Lane after the site of the original ground.


Bruce Grove
Broadwater Farm
Harringay the area along Green Lanes was administratively part of the Borough of Tottenham.
Seven Sisters gets its name from a circle of seven trees (now replanted) that were planted by a Tottenham resident ca. 1700s on Page Green Common to commemorate his daughters. The Seven Sisters Road was constructed in the 1830s to provide a link across countryside from Tottenham to Holloway.
South Tottenham
Tottenham Green
Tottenham Hale
Tottenham Marshes
Wood Green was an ancient woodland area that covered most of the present Wood Green.
West Green

Sites of Historical Interest

All Hallows Church

Tottenham Parish Church which dates back to Norman times.

Broadwater Farm

Housing estate built 1967, site of Broadwater Farm riot of 1986, in which two people were killed.

Bruce Castle

Now a Local History Museum, was Tottenhams Manor House, named after the father of the Lord of the Manor. It was purchased by Sir Rowland Hill and he was living here when he as Postmaster General introduced the Penny Postage in 1840. Arena(Now Demolished)

St Ann�s Church

Built in 1860, St Ann�s church houses the organ on which Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy composed the famous Wedding March from A Midsummer Nights Dream.

Tottenham High Cross

Erected sometime between 1600-1609 on the site of an earlier Christian cross. Often mistakenly thought to be an Eleanor cross.

Public Transportation

Two London Underground Lines serve Tottenham. The Piccadilly Line opened in 1932 has one station Turnpike Lane tube station in Tottenham. The Victoria Line which opened in 1968 has its operating depot in Tottenham at Northumberland Park Depot and has two stations, Seven Sisters station and Tottenham Hale station situated within the area. Suburban railway stations, Seven Sisters, Tottenham Hale, Bruce Grove railway station, White Hart Lane railway station, and Northumberland Park station serve the area.The train service is provided WAGN.

History of the Railways of Tottenham

Northern & Eastern Railway

Running from Stratford to Broxbourne was opened 15th September 1840 with two stations in the district called Tottenham Hale station & Northumberland Park Station.

Tottenham & Hampstead Junction Railway

Opened 21st July 1868. The two stations on this line in the district were opened later. Harringay Park (Green Lanes) in 1880 and St Anns Rd in 1882 closing after service on 8th August 1942.

Stoke Newington & Edmonton Railway

The section between Stoke Newington and Lower Edmonton opened July 22,1872 with stations at Stamford Hill (half of the station lies in the Borough), Seven Sisters station, Bruce Grove railway station, and White Hart Lane railway station in Tottenham.

Palace Gates Line

Opened within Tottenham on1 January 1878 with stations at Seven Sisters station and West Green railway station. Passenger services ceased in 1963 with the line finally closing on 7 February 1965.

Tottenham & Forest Gate Railway

Opened 9th July 1894.

London Underground Piccadilly Line

Extended through Turnpike Lane tube station in 1932.

London Underground Victoria Line

Opened on Victoria Line.

Postal Districts

The former Borough of Tottenham was divided into three London postal districts. London N15 South Tottenham, London N17 Tottenham and London N4 Harringay (Finsbury Park).

Neighbouring Boroughs & Districts

London Borough of Enfield
Edmonton, London London N18.
London Borough of Waltham Forest
Walthamstow London E17.
London Borough of Hackney
Stamford Hill London N16.
London Borough of Islington
Finsbury Park London N4.
London Borough of Haringey
Hornsey London N8.
Wood Green London N22.


At 3:28 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Bruce Castle is certainly not demolished. It houses the Borough of Haringey's archives and the museum is open for part of each week. The museum is continually being developed. The medieval tower that stands adjacent to the castle is also still standing. The grounds of the castle, a municipal park since 1892, are well maintained and provide a valauable community resource for leisure and events.

At 5:56 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Wonderful and informative web site. I used information from that site its great. kia motors pl blackjack knife company Auto bentley exp speed 8 Europeans favorite automobiles Bondage sex slave girls Yaris vehicle rental Lexus is 300 part leon jacobs basketball Cum fiestanevada incorporation Venom car alarm

At 1:45 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

best regards, nice info » » »


Post a Comment

<< Home